2018 Historic Preservation Awards


To the All the Recipients of

Our 2018 Preservation Awards

2018 was the first full year of the New Bern Preservation Foundation's Award Program.  Our new "Preservation Medal" was presented to eleven individuals and organizations for 2018.  In addition, three individuals who were out of the country at the time of their 2017 Award were honored and and received their medal along with the 2018 recipients.

We want to give a special thank you to the awards jury for their work in initiating our first full year of this awards program and for setting the standard for future years.

2018 Awards Jury

Phyllis Hoffman, Chair, Former NBPF Vice President

Billy Faulkenberry, Architect, Former NBPF President

Diane Filipowicz, Architect and Preservation Expert

Morgan Potts, City Planner & Staff to the Historic Preservation Commission

Newsom Williams, House Rehabilitation Expert & Former NBPF President

The list below Includes all  the award recipients in order of presentation at the 2018 Ceremony.  We hope you enjoy reading about the achievements of each recipient in their Award Citation. They were read as introductions to each recipient at our December 18, 2018 Awards Ceremony

Just click the star to go to the Citation page. 


Anne & Jim Schout

The Charles Slover House, 201 Johnson Street

New Bern Civic Theatre

 Facade Restoration

Town of River Bend

 Red Caboose

Rehabilitation / Adaptive Reuse

Charles, Carolyn, & Ted Peterson

The Edward R. Standly House / Wit Clothier, 502 Pollock Street

Friends of the New Bern Firemen’s Museum

Firemen's Museum


Ch. 191 of National Assoc. of Watch & Clock Collectors

 Tryon Palace Clock Restoration

Advocacy, Research, and Education

Jim Hodges - Advocacy, Research & Storytelling


Peter & Kathy Adolph

 City Laundry, Blondie's Building

& Neighborhood Vitality Projects

New Bern Historical Society

New Bern Battlefield Park

Tim Thompson (2017)

 ​Streamlining Historic Preservation

Rules of Procedure, Ordinance, & Guidelines

Lifetime Achievement

Susan Moffat-Thomas

Leadership in Preservation & Downtown Revitalization

Earl of Craven Questers 

Cedar Grove Cemetery Preservation & Restoration Projects

Ben Parrish (2017) 

House Rehabilitation & Neighborhood Revitalization

Newsom Williams (2017)

House Rehabilitation & Neighborhood Revitalization

. . .